yankee going to UK, needs a job - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Studying, Living, Working, Volunteering Abroad, Expats

Studying, Living, Working, Volunteering Abroad, Expats Currently or planning on studying abroad, living abroad, working abroad, and volunteering abroad. Expats talk for all of you Huck Finn's out there. You rebels with a without a cause. Summer travel is child's play to you.

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 07:18 PM   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to chasing a dream

Hello! First, I have to say that I'm new to TPUNK, and, so far, I'm impressed. There is alot of info here. Hopping you guys can awnser a few questions. I have done alot of traveling in the US, but am planning my first trip to europe. I find myself in the position to be able to spend a good deal of time overseas, but lack the cash to do it. The way I see it, I need to have a job, while in england to finance the trip. (plan to use england as a "home base", and do several side trips around europe). Can somebody tell me what kind of VISA I need to get, and how to get it? I am 30 years old, American, not a student, and single. I can not get a "highly skilled worker visa", as i don't have a collage degree. From my understanding, I can not get a "working holidaymaker" visa, because the USA is not a "commonwealth country". I want to spend 1 to 2 years in europe, and don't think I can do it with just a pasport. I have been told a pasport alone will only alow me to be in england for 6 months. Can anyone tell me if the info I have is correct? My family ancestry is english, but several generations back. I am told an "ancestry visa" can only go as far back as my grandfather, which won't work either. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Old 09-19-2005, 08:43 PM   #2
Yoda