Plan my 3 week Europe trip - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Where ya going? & Specific country info! > Europe: Western

Europe: Western Cafés, castles, architecture, art, wine, the Euro, gastronomy, let´s meet up, and pub crawls.! Oh oui, backpackers paradise...

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2005, 06:50 PM   #1
Members

Hey all you guys...newbie here. Cheers!

Just decided that I'm taking my first trip to Europe this coming summer. It's like 10 months away, but I can't help but start planning right now.

So, I'm looking for any and all recommendations...when? where? what? how?!

thanks

jrkillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #2
Members

Quote:
Originally posted by jrkillion@Nov 8 2005, 08:50 PM

So, I'm looking for any and all recommendations...when?* where?* what?* how?!

[snapback]85445[/snapback]
Try to avoid the high tourist season. Are you a student? If so, when does school end for you? End of July/pretty much all of August is super high tourist season. Eurail pass is one of the best ways to get around and there are tons of different types of passes you can get depending on how big your travel area is and how much you want to use the trains. Hostels are usually a good deal. Typically 20 euros, sometimes less, sometimes more for dorm-style beds. Take a small bed sheet and a towel (ALWAYS have your towel! haha!) with you because some places don't provide them and even though you're going in the summer it might get a bit chilly and you can use the bedsheet as a blanket.